top of page

South Kivu is a province of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC)

Its capital is Bukavu.

Situated within the Great Rift Valley, South Kivu is bordered by Lake Kivu, Burundi, and Tanzania to the east

The province houses many volcanoes, including Mount Kahuzi, Mount Muhi and Mount Kabobo.

These volcanoes are part of the larger Virunga Mountains, which stretches from Uganda through Rwanda and into the DRC.

South Kivu is a melting pot of various ethnic groups, including the Shi, Fuliiru, Bembe, Vira, Nyindu, Holoholo, Bwari, Hunde, Nyanga, Amba, Swaga, Shu, and Mbuti. 

South Kivu Province was created from Sud-Kivu District in 1989, when the existing Kivu Province was divided into three parts (South Kivu, North Kivu and Maniema).

Traditional authority is vested in chieftaincies, also known as collectivities (collectivités) or sectors.

South Kivu Province is characterized by numerous rivers, lakes, and waterways that crisscross through its landscapes. 

The region lies in the center of the African Great Lakes, encompassed by Lake Kivu towards the west and sharing its border with the Virunga National Park on the east. 

The province's topography is an amalgamation of geographical features, comprising mountains, dense forests, cascading waterfalls, and fertile plains. The Rwenzori Mountains, which form part of the Albertine Rift, are located on the province's eastern edge, serving as a vital source of freshwater and sustaining a plethora of flora and fauna.

All Videos

All Videos

bottom of page